Note! Information in this article may be dated. To search recent bulletin articles click here.

Governor Easley Appoints Hodge, Rudd to Real Estate Commission

Joe L. Hodge, Jr., of Raleigh, and S. R. “Buddy” Rudd, Jr., of Oak Island, have been appointed to the Real Estate Commission by Governor Michael F. Easley, it was announced by Commission Chairman Raymond A. “Buddy” Bass, Jr.

Hodge is president of Hodge & Kittrell, Inc., a Raleigh real estate firm, and Rudd is a principal with Margaret Rudd & Associates, a real estate firm with offices in Oak Island and Southport.

The oath of office was administered to Hodge by State Supreme Court Chief Justice Sarah Parker in November and to Rudd by State Court of Appeals Chief Judge John C. Martin in January in the Commission’s Raleigh office.


Joe L. Hodge, Jr.

Hodge is a member and former President of the Raleigh Regional Association of Realtors and was named REALTOR® of the Year in 1996 by the Association.

He is a board member of Needham Broughton Capital Foundation and a former member of the Vestry of Christ Church, where he served as Junior Warden.

A Raleigh native and 1978 graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Hodge and his wife, Anna Ball, have three daughters. Anna Ball, 22, is a 2006 graduate of Wake Forest University and currently works with Henredon Furniture Company in High Point. Elizabeth, 20, is a third-year student at the University of Virginia, and Josie, 16, is a junior at Broughton High School.


S. R. “Buddy” Rudd, Jr.

Active in the real estate industry for more than 20 years, he is currently a member of the Oak Island Planning Board and a director of the Southport-Oak Island Chamber of Commerce.

Rudd is a past chairman of the Brunswick County Democratic Party, past president of the Brunswick County Board of REALTORS® and REALTOR® of the year in 1998, and a past director of the North Carolina Vacation Rental Managers Association and North Carolina Real Estate Education Foundation.

In 2005, he was named to the North Carolina Association of REALTORS® Hall of fame and in 2002, received the REALTOR® Citizenship Award.

This article came from the March 2007-Vol37-3 edition of the bulletin.