Miriam Baer Elected ARELLO® President

Miriam J. Baer, Executive Director of the Commission, has been elected President of the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO® for a one-year term beginning in January 2017.

ARELLO® is an international organization dedicated to promoting better administration and enforcement of real estate license and regulatory laws by its members.

During her 29 years with the Commission, Baer held numerous positions with ARELLO®, including Senior District Vice President, member of the Board of Directors, and Chair of various committees.

ARELLO® membership is organized into five districts with four comprised of the 50 states, U.S. territories, Bahamas and Bermuda, and Canadian provinces and one of members from Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia, and the Far East.

Working committees, the Board of Directors, and the Executive Committee carry out the organization’s mission to support jurisdictions in the administration and enforcement of real estate license laws and to promote excellence in real estate regulation.

Baer is the fifth person affiliated with the Commission to serve as President of ARELLO®. Mary Frances Whitley, former Director of Administration, served as President in 2007; Phillip T. Fisher, former Executive Director, in 1991; A. P. “Red” Carlton, former Commission member and Chair, in 1985; and Joseph Schweidler, Commission  Secretary-Treasurer, in 1972.

This article came from the February 2017-Vol47-3 edition of the bulletin.